Pai is a
small hamlet of Torri del Benaco. The old name “Palli”, perhaps deriving from
the discovery of some pile dwellings in the area, has changed over time into
"Pai", as proved by a document dating back to 1372.
petroglyphs that are situated between Torri del Benaco and Pai, near the town
of Crér, some natural slates modelled in the Ice Age, are particularly
interesting, while the Roccia delle Griselle shows some carvings of weapons and
stylised human figures.
town is perched on the side of Mount Baldo and still bears the remains of the
fortifications that Barbarossa ordered to demolish. The church of San Marco, dating back to the
seventh century, was the old chapel of the castle, renovated in the seventeenth century to become
the parish church. It houses a wonderful wooden statue of the Madonna and Child
of the fifteenth century, picturesque frescoes dating back to 1300 and 1400 and
a baptistery dating back to 1522.
is the church of San Gregorio, which, according to history, had to be the
parish church until the Countess, now old, "chose" the church of San
Marco because it was closer to her residence.
La Tanella, rich in stalactites and stalagmites, is also worth a visit.